IG Institute Advisory Board

The Institute of Genetics' (IG) Advisory Board includes a diverse group of national and international representatives of the public, private and non-profit sectors, including the research community and health practitioners. The Institute Advisory Board (IAB) provides support and guidance to our Scientific Director and CIHR's Governing Council with respect to the full range of Institute activities.

For more information about the IABs, please consult CIHR's Institute Advisory Boards page.


(as of September 2013)

Terry-Lynn Young, PhD (Chair)
Associate Professor
Faculty of Medicine
Division of Biomedical Sciences
Memorial University of Newfoundland

Richard Rachubinski, PhD (Vice-Chair)
Professor and Chair
Department of Cell Biology
International Research Scholar, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
University of Alberta

Mickie Bhatia, PhD
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences
Scientific Director, Stem Cell and Cancer Research Institute (SCC-RI)
Canada Research Chair in Human Stem Cell Biology
McMaster University

Kym Boycott, MD, PhD, FRCP(C), FCCMG
Associate Professor, Faculty of Medicine
Investigator, Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute
University of Ottawa

William Crosby
Professor of Biological Sciences,
University of Windsor

Geoff Hicks
University of Manitoba

Beth Potter, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Community Medicine
Adjunct Scientist, Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences
University of Ottawa

Vardit Ravitsky
Assistant Professor
Bioethics Program
Department of Social and Preventive Medicine
School of Public Health
University of Montreal
Director, Ethics and Health Section
Centre de recherche en éthique de l'Université de Montréal (CRÉUM)

Jacquetta Trasler, MD, PhD
Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics
McGill University

Durhane Wong-Rieger, PhD
Canadian Organization for Rare Disorders

Christopher Yip, PhD
The Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research
Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry
Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Department of Biochemistry
University of Toronto