Canadian Research Centres on Aging & Other Associations

Contents

List of Centres and Directors

British Columbia
Centre on Aging, University of Victoria
P.O. Box 1700 Stn, CSC
Office: R Hut, Room 107
Victoria, British-Columbia V8W 2Y2
Tel: 250-721-6369
Fax: 250-721-6499

Dr. Scott Hofer (Director)
coagdirector@uvic.ca
smhofer@uvic.ca

Leah M. Potter (Administration)
lmpotter@uvic.ca

The Gerontology Research Centre, Simon Fraser University at Harbour Centre

2800-515 West Hastings St.
Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5K3
Tel: 604-291-5062
Fax: 604-291-5066

General Information
gero@sfu.ca

Dr. Andrew Sixsmith (Director)
sixsmith@sfu.ca

Dr. Andrew Wister (Associate Director)
wister@sfu.ca

Alberta
Alberta Centre on Aging, University of Alberta
3-48 Corbet Hall
Edmonton, Alberta, T6G 2G4
Tel: 780-492-2903
Fax: 780-492-1626
General Information
aging@ualberta.ca
Saskatchewan
Centre on Aging and Health, University of Regina
University of Regina
Regina, Saskatchewan S4S 0A2
Tel: 306-337-2537
Fax: 306-337-2321

General Information
cah@uregina.ca

Dr. Thomas Hadjistavropoulos (Director)
thomas.hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca

Manitoba
Centre on Aging, University of Manitoba
338 Isbister Building
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2
Tel: 204-474-8754
Fax: 204-474-7576

General Information
aging@umanitoba.ca

Dr. Michelle Porter (Director)
Tel: 204-474-9176
Michelle.Porter@umanitoba.ca

Catherine Jacob (Administrative Coordinator)
Tel: 204-474-8731
catherine.jacob@ad.umanitoba.ca

Ontario
Centre for Education & Research on Aging and Health, Lakehead University
Health Services North
955, Oliver Road
Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 5E1
Tel: 807-766-7271
Fax: 807-766-7222

General Information
cerah@lakeheadu.ca

Dr. Ian Newhouse (Director)
inewhous@lakeheadu.ca

Canadian Centre for Activity and Aging, University of Western Ontario
1490 Richmond Street
London, Ontario, N6G 2M3
Tel: 519-661-1604
Fax: 519-661-1612

Dr. Charles Rice (Research Director)
Tel: 519-661-1606, ext. 81628
crice@uwo.ca

Dr. Clara Fitzgerald (Director)
cfitzge4@uwo.ca

Shannon Belfry (Applied Research Coordinator)
Tel: 519-661-1633          
shannon.belfry@uwo.ca

Centre for Population, Aging & Health Research, University of Western Ontario
Room 5211, Social Sciences Centre
University of Western Ontario
London, Ontario, N6A 5C2
Tel: 519-661-2111, ext. 84717
Dr. Andrea Willson (Director)
willson@uwo.ca
Schlegel - University of Waterloo Research Institute for Aging
250 Laurelwood Drive
Waterloo, Ontario N2J 0E2
Tel.: 519-904-0660

Josie d'Avernas (Executive Director)
josie.davernas@uwaterloo.ca

Kate Wilson (Office Manager)
kate.wilson@uwaterloo.ca

McMaster Institute of Geroscience, McMaster University
McMaster University
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, Ontario, L8S 4L8
Tel: 905-525-9140
Fax: 905-525-9140

Dr. Parminder Raina (Co-Director)
Tel: 905-525-9140, ext. 22197
praina@mcmaster.ca

Roxanne Cheeseman (Administrative Coordinator)
cheesem@mcmaster.ca

Gilbrea Centre for Studies in Aging, McMaster University
McMaster University
Kenneth Taylor Hall, Room 204
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, Ontario, L8S 4M4
Tel: 905-525-9140, ext. 24449
Fax: 905-525-4198

Dr. Amanda Grenier (Director)
grenier@mcmaster.ca

Amanda Bradford-Janke (Research Manager)
bradfor@mcmaster.ca

Centre for Elder Research, Sheridan College
1430 Trafalger Road
Oakville, Ontario, L6H 2L1
Tel: 905-845-9430, ext. 8615
Fax: 905-815-4233
Patricia Spadafora (Director)
pat.spadafora@sheridaninstitute.ca
Institute for Life Course and Aging, University of Toronto
263 McCaul Street, Suite 328
Toronto, Ontario M5T 3J1
Tel: 416-978-0377
Fax: 416-978-4771

Dr. Esme Fuller-Thomson (Interim Director)
esme.fuller.thomson@utoronto.ca

Susan Murphy (Director’s Assistant)
susan.murphy@utoronto.ca 

Dr. Lynn McDonald (Director)

YorkU Centre for Aging Research and Education (YU-CARE), York University
4700 Keele Street
Toronto, Ontario, M3J 1P3
Tel: 416-736-2100, ext. 44037
Dr. William Gage (Director)
Tel: 416-736-2100, ext. 21479
Tel: 416-736-2100, ext. 33027
whgage@yorku.ca
Rotman Research Institute - Baycrest Centre for Geriatric Care
3560 Bathurst Street
Toronto, Ontario, M6A 2E1
Tel.: 416-785-2500 ext. 3522
Fax: 416-785-9999

Dr. Randy McIntosh (VP Research)
rmcintosh@research.baycrest.org

Laura Wong-Ribeiro (Executive Assistant)
lwong-ribeiro@research.baycrest.org

National Institute on Ageing, Ryerson University
Ted Rogers School of Management
350 Victoria Street
Toronto, Ontario, M5B 2K3
Stephanie Woodward (Executive Director)
stephanie.woodward@ryerson.ca
Trent Centre for Aging and Society, Trent University
1600 West Bank Drive
Peterborough, Ontario, K9J 7B8
Tel: 705-748-1011, ext. 6440
Fax: 705-748-1205

General Information
aging@trentu.ca

Dr. Mark Skinner (Director)
Tel: 705-748-1011, ext. 7946
markskinner@trentu.ca

Elizabeth Bruyère Research Institute, University of Ottawa
43 Bruyère Street
Ottawa, Ontario, K1N 5C8
Tel: 613-562-6262, ext. 1515
Fax: 613-562-4266

General Information
briirb@bruyere.org

Dr. Peter Walker (CEO & Scientific Director)
Tel: 613-562-6262, ext. 4060
walkerp47@gmail.com

Quebec
Donald Berman Maimonides Geriatric Centre
5795 Caldwell Avenue
Montreal, Quebec, H4W 1W3
Tel: 514-483-2121
Fax: 514-483-1561
Dr. Machelle Wilchesky (Director of Research)
Tel: 514-483-2121, ext. 2346
machelle.wilchesky@mcgill.ca
Centre de recherche et d’expertise en gérontologie sociale (CREGÉS) - (French only)
CSSS Cavendish, Centre affilié universitaire, Site CLSC René-Cassin
5800 Cavendish Boulevard, 6th Floor
Côte St-Luc, Quebec, H4W 2T5
Tel: 514-484-7878, ext. 1463
Fax: 514-485-1612

General Information
info@creges.ca

Patrik Marier (Scientific Director)
patrik.marier@concordia.ca

Centre de recherche de l’Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal (CRIUGM)
4565 Queen Mary Road
Montreal, Quebec, H3W 1W5
Tel: 514-340-3540
Fax: 514-340-2802

Dr. Sylvie Belleville (Director of Research)
sylvie.belleville@umontreal.ca

Émilie Dessureault (Administrative Assistant)
emilie.dessureault@criugm.qc.ca

RUIS McGill (McGill Réseau Universitaire Intégré de Santé) Centre of Excellence on aging and chronic disease (CEViMaC)
Jewish General Hospital
3755 Côte-Ste-Catherine Road
Pavilion E, Room E-0012
Montreal, Quebec, H3T 1E2
Tel: 514-340-8222, ext. 6120
Dr. Olivier Beauchet, (Chief)
olivier.beauchet@mcgill.ca
McGill Centre for Studies in Aging (MCSA), Douglas Hospital
6825 LaSalle Boulevard
Verdun, Quebec, H4H 1R3
Tel: 514-766-2010
Fax: 514-888-4050

General Information
info.mcsa@mcgill.ca

Dr. Jens Pruessner (Director)
jens.pruessner@mcgill.ca

Research Centre on Aging, Université de Sherbrooke
Pavillon D’Youville
1036, rue Belvédère Sud
Sherbrooke, Quebec, J1H 4C4
Tel: 819-829-7131
Fax: 819-829-7141
Dr. Nicole Dubuc (Director)
Tel: 819-780-2220, ext. 45633
Nicole.Dubuc@USherbrooke.ca
Institut sur le vieillissement et la participation sociale des aînés (IVPSA), Université Laval - (French only)
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
1050, chemin Sainte-Foy, bureau L2-42 (coordination)
Québec, Quebec, G1S 4L8
Tel: 418-682-7511, ext. 84847
Fax: 418-682-7998

Dr. André Tourigny (Director)
andre.tourigny.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Dr. Andrée Sévigny, Co-Director
andree.sevigny.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Solange Proulx (Coordinator)
Tel: 418-682-7511, ext. 84847
solange.proulx.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Centre d’excellence sur le vieillissement de Québec (CEVQ), Université Laval - (French only)
CHU de Québec, Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement
1050, Chemin Sainte-Foy Québec, Quebec, G1S 4L8
Tel: 418-682-7881
Fax: 418-682-7998

General Information
cevq.cha@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Dr. Pierre Durand (Scientific Director)
Tel: 418-682-7511, ext. 4859
pierre.durand@fmed.ulaval.ca

New Brunswick
Third Age Centre, St. Thomas University
Brian Mulroney Hall, Room 101
Fredericton, New-Brunswick E3B 5G3
Tel: 506-452-0526
Fax: 506-452-0611
General Information
3rdage@stu.ca
The Fredericton 80+ Study
c/o Department of Gerontology
Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 5G3
Tel: 506-452-0516
Fax: 506-452-0611
William L. Randall (Project Director)
brandall@stu.ca
Centre d'études du vieillissement
Moncton University
Pavillon Léopold-Taillon
18 Antonine-Maillet Avenue
Moncton, New Brunswick E1A 3E9
Tel: 506-858-4673
Fax: 506-858-4017
Dr. Suzanne Dupuis-Blanchard (Director)
suzanne.dupuis-blanchard@umoncton.ca
Nova Scotia
Nova Scotia Centre on Aging, Mount Saint Vincent University
166 Bedford Highway
Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3M 2J6
Tel: 902-457-6546
Fax: 902-457-6508

General Information
nsca@msvu.ca

Dr. Janice Keefe (Director)
janice.keefe@msvu.ca

Pamela Fancey (Associate Director)
pamela.fancey@msvu.ca

Donna Fraser (Administrative Assistant)
donna.fraser@msvu.ca

Maritime Data Centre for Aging Research & Policy Analysis, Mount Saint Vincent University
166 Bedford Highway
Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3M 2J6
Tel: 902-457-6780
Fax: 902-457-6226

General Information
mdc_aging@msvu.ca

Dr. Janice Keefe (Associate Professor & Canada Research Chair in Aging & Caregiving Policy)
janice.keefe@msvu.ca

Prince Edward Island
Prince Edward Island Centre on Health & Aging
The University of Prince Edward
550 University Avenue
Charlottetown, PEI C1A 4P3
Tel: 902-368-9008 / 902-566-0737
Fax: 902-368-9006
Olive Bryanton
Tel: 902-894-2841
obryanton@upei.ca
Newfoundland and Labrador
Newfoundland and Labrador Centre on Aging, Memorial University
* New future center
Gail Wideman (Working group member)
gwideman@mun.ca
Other Interested Organizations
Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) Division of Children, Seniors and Healthy Development - Seniors Policy
785 Carling Avenue (P.L. 6804B)
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K9
Tel: 613-854-8793
Simone Powell (Acting Manager)
simone.powell@phac-aspc.gc.ca
Date modified: