Governing Council - Members

CIHR is governed by a Governing Council of up to 18 members. The President of CIHR serves as its Chair, while the Deputy Minister of Health is an ex-officio and non-voting member.

Members of Governing Council:

  • are 18 women and men who are able to contribute to the achievement of CIHR's objectives in the overall interests of Canadians;
  • each come from a unique background and possess an outstanding skill set;
  • reflect a range of relevant backgrounds and disciplines;
  • meet face-to-face at least three times a year and every two years in a retreat;
  • are not remunerated.

Members of Governing Council are appointed by the Governor in Council – decided upon by the federal Cabinet – and may hold office for two consecutive three-year terms.

The By-Law of CIHR reflects the language of the CIHR Act and enables it to operate, as a Departmental Corporation, within a legal corporate framework.

Roderick McInnes
CIHR Acting President
Chair of the Governing Council

Jean-Robert Bernier
Committee of the Chiefs of Military Medical Services
North Atlantic Treaty Organization

Debbie Fischer
Executive in Residence
Rotman School of Business, Health Care Strategy Centre
Executive Associate
KPMG's Advisory Services

Michèle Fortin
Former President and CEO

Lawrence Jardine
Associate Professor, Western University
Medical Director, London Health Sciences Centre

Simon Kennedy
Deputy Minister
Health Canada

Amy Ornstein
Pediatrician and Medical Director, IWK Health Centre Child Protection Team
Division Head of General Pediatrics, Dalhousie University

Chris Power
Canadian Patient Safety Institute

Lori Turik
Executive Director
World Health Innovation Network (WIN)

Lori West
Professor of Pediatrics, Surgery, Immunology and Laboratory Medicine/Pathology
University of Alberta
Director, Alberta Transplant Institute

Michael H. Wilson
Chairman, Barclays Capital Canada Inc.

Date modified: