Stay connected

August 24, 2016

CIHR announces the members of its new Institutes Advisory Boards

May 11, 2016

CIHR announces chairs of new Institutes Advisory Boards

March 2, 2016

Ottawa researchers find Achilles’ heel of a severe form of childhood leukemia

Researchers at The Ottawa Hospital and the University of Ottawa have found the Achilles’ heel of one of the most aggressive forms of leukemia that affects both children and adults. They have also identified a possible new treatment that exploits this fatal weakness.

“It’s very exciting because this is the first time anyone has found a potential personalized treatment for this aggressive disease,” said Marjorie Brand, a senior scientist at The Ottawa Hospital and professor at the University of Ottawa. “Unlike current therapies, ours targets the offending gene without harming the rest of the body.”

February 24, 2016

Tailored nanoparticles could improve cancer diagnosis and treatment

CIHR-funded study refines use of tiny, engineered particles just 1/10,000th the width of a human hair to carry drugs into cancer cells to destroy tumours.

February 17, 2016

The Guttmacher Institute honours Dr. Wendy Norman with the 2015 Darroch Award

Dr. Wendy V. Norman, Assistant Professor in the Department of Family Practice at the University of British Columbia and CIHR Applied Public Health Chair, was given the 2015 Darroch Award for Excellence in Sexual and Reproductive Health Research in New York City on January 19, 2016.

This prestigious award was established in 2005 by the US-based Guttmacher Institute to recognize excellence among sexual and reproductive health researchers who are in the early or middle years of their careers. The award is presented biennially, and 2015 marks the first time that a Canadian researcher has received the honour.

Dr. Norman spent more than 20 years as a clinician, advocate and administrator within the field of reproductive health. In these roles, she recognized many gaps in contraceptive and abortion services in British Columbia and Canada more broadly, and decided to transition to a research career seven years ago. Since then, Dr. Norman’s research has had a significant impact on the reproductive health of Canadian women.

Congratulations to Dr. Norman!

February 11, 2016

Centre for Commercialization of Cancer Immunotherapy - C3I

An initiative of CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC to invest $15 million to harness the power of the immune system to combat cancer.

February 4, 2016

Stand Up To Cancer Canada Announces New Cancer Stem Cell Dream Team to Attack Brain Cancer in Children and Adults

A team of top Canadian scientists was named today to lead a new attack on brain cancers in children and adults.

January 27, 2016

CIHR reaffirms commitment to Indigenous health research

Date modified: